Once we have received and become deeply aware of God’s loving mercy towards us, we’re more able to generously extend God’s love to others through what the Church calls corporal (physical) and spiritual acts of mercy. There are seven of each. Think about it; how many do you already do in your daily life? Which one or two could you try to do more of, or better, this year?

Corporal Works of Mercy

Feeding the hungry

Giving drink to the thirsty

Clothing the naked

Sheltering the homeless

Visiting the sick

Visiting the imprisoned

Burying the dead

Spiritual Works of Mercy

Counselling the doubtful

Teaching the ignorant

Admonishing sinners

Comforting the afflicted

Forgiving offenses

Bearing wrongs patiently

Praying for the living and the dead